FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Levels crash game

<<

sky_lark

User avatar

Posts: 1890

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:00 pm

Location: North Carolina

Post Fri Jan 24, 2014 10:33 pm

Levels crash game

Hey guys,

I have two levels that crash my game whenever trying to test them, and I can't figure out why. To be clear, I can load the levels in the level editor just fine, but the game crashes after pressing Test Level.

Radioactive is not mine, looks like an Invader Alex map maybe? It's from 2007 as best as I can tell.

Loop2 is a fragment from a level I am working on, begun today. I isolated the issue down to this fragment. I'm baffled.

So I'd like to know two things:

- Do these crashes occur on other systems? I am on Mac OS X 10.6.8.
- Any idea what might be crashing the game?

Thanks!

loopradioactive.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Follow Bitfighter! FacebookTwitterDiscordSteam
<<

sam686

User avatar

Posts: 468

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:53 pm

Location: United States, South Dakota

Post Sat Jan 25, 2014 7:26 am

Re: Levels crash game

A Bot zone generating crash, mostly fixed after 019 release. Only happens on some levels in only 019.

019 is a little outdated, can wait for 019a, or can upload to "SAM TEST" which have bot zone generating fixes after 019 release, or can try compile newest code revisions.
<<

amgine

Posts: 1314

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:57 pm

Post Sat Jan 25, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Levels crash game

Well that explains why one of my levels im building keeps getting borged.....
Bitfighter Forever.
<<

sky_lark

User avatar

Posts: 1890

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:00 pm

Location: North Carolina

Post Sat Jan 25, 2014 8:01 pm

Re: Levels crash game

That is occurring on both levels?

If I disable bots, do you think it might work?

edit: just tried, no joy. Guess the zoning happens even if bots are disabled?
Follow Bitfighter! FacebookTwitterDiscordSteam
<<

Fordcars

User avatar

Posts: 983

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:51 pm

Location: Some city, somewhere

Post Sat Jan 25, 2014 10:29 pm

Re: Levels crash game

Sky, I am pretty sure you can disable zone generation for a level, or in the .ini :zapdance:
skybax: Why is this health pack following me?
bobdaduck: uh, it likes you.
<<

amgine

Posts: 1314

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:57 pm

Post Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:22 pm

Re: Levels crash game

Problem with that is it makes bots unavailable in other levels.
Bitfighter Forever.
<<

watusimoto

Site Admin

Posts: 1557

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:07 pm

Location: Quartz's mom's house

Post Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:11 am

Re: Levels crash game

Does anyone know if these levels crash in 019a?
<<

raptor

Posts: 1021

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 9:03 pm

Post Tue Feb 04, 2014 8:31 am

Re: Levels crash game

So far no level has crashed 019a since my botzone changes. I am unsure of these specific ones, but I've tested some really weird edge cases and all have passed.
<<

amgine

Posts: 1314

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:57 pm

Post Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:59 pm

Re: Levels crash game

raptor i told you about this bug but you directly ignored me because it was (undupeable) so shame on you for not listening XD

i have had this bug a couple of times as well as a few radom crashes from drop a item i dont have... but thats another issue.
Bitfighter Forever.
<<

watusimoto

Site Admin

Posts: 1557

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:07 pm

Location: Quartz's mom's house

Post Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:21 am

Re: Levels crash game

Bugs that cannot be duplicated cannot be fixed. It's not because we're lazy, it's just that it can't be done.

It doesn't mean the bug isn't real, it just means we can't fix it.
<<

amgine

Posts: 1314

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:57 pm

Post Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:27 pm

Re: Levels crash game

WEll if only there was a way to trace crashes even if it was a 1 time thing.......
Bitfighter Forever.

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron