Page 1 of 1
How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Mon Oct 17, 2011 5:41 pm
by Santiago ZAP
I Downloaded C++,
I Downloaded Bitfighter Source Code,
I edited it
What do I have to do for Bitfighter to load the New C++ Code?
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Mon Oct 17, 2011 6:29 pm
by raptor
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Mon Oct 17, 2011 6:49 pm
by karamazovapy
To add to that response on a more basic level, when you modify c++ code, you need to "compile" it into an executable file (.exe) before it will run.
If you download the source and modify it, you have to compile your new, special version before you can see if it works. Often, your changes will make it so the new version doesn't work quite the way it's supposed to. These are the bugs we're always tracking down.
...it's the ciiiiiiircle of liiiiiiiiiiife...and it moves us aaaaaaaaaaaaaall...
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Mon Oct 17, 2011 9:49 pm
by ZoombeR
could you at least tell us what platform your running?
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:34 am
by watusimoto
The first thing you need to do is to figure out how to build the unmodified version of Bitfighter on whatever platform you are on. We've tried to make it easy, but there are always complexities. Patience and fortitude are required if you have never done this before. It took me over a week to compile Bitfighter for the first time (though it was called Zap then), and while we've made it much easier than it was, there are still many things you will need to learn, like how to compile a C++ program, for example.
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Tue Oct 18, 2011 3:10 pm
by Santiago ZAP
Thanks all!
ZoombeR wrote:could you at least tell us what platform your running?
Windows XP
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:04 pm
by ZoombeR
ok, so im assuming you got visual C++ and *obtained* the "include_do_not_distribute" files..?
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Wed Oct 19, 2011 2:27 am
by watusimoto
I'm not exactly sure if those files are required any longer... I think Sam or Raptor did some voodoo to make them unnecessary.
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:40 am
by raptor
Voodoo was done as part of 016, I think (everything seems fuzzy now..) - for 015a, you'll still need those DirectX files.
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Wed Oct 19, 2011 1:50 pm
by Santiago ZAP
ZoombeR wrote:ok, so im assuming you got visual C++ and *obtained* the "include_do_not_distribute" files..?
Yep!
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:56 pm
by ZoombeR
raptor wrote:Voodoo was done as part of 016, I think (everything seems fuzzy now..) - for 015a, you'll still need those DirectX files.
aaah. that word is a commonly used osx86 term used tooo.
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:28 am
by watusimoto
Usually the easiest way to get those files, which we cannot distribute, is to quietly ask someone via email.
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Sat Oct 29, 2011 4:32 pm
by Santiago ZAP
Santiago ZAP wrote:What do I have to do for Bitfighter to load the New C++ Code?
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:09 pm
by karamazovapy
Do you understand what compiling is?
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Tue Nov 08, 2011 1:48 pm
by Santiago ZAP
karamazovapy wrote:Do you understand what compiling is?
Turning a Source code into a programming language, or an executable program
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:36 pm
by karamazovapy
I want to be clear that I'm not trying to talk down to you here, I'm just trying to figure out what you do and do not know.
Do you understand how to attempt to compile the code for windows?
Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?
Posted:
Sat Nov 12, 2011 12:02 pm
by ZoombeR
maybe you want to read
This link?