Page 1 of 1

Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:28 pm
by Lamp
It seems that browser versions of games are very popular.

Browser version of Bitfighter allows you to play the game anywhere without having to download it.

Also when there is a browser version, then you can make a chrome web store app for Bitfighter.

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:50 am
by raptor
emscripten!

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:37 pm
by Quartz
yeah bro there's a browser version already it's called Z.A.P.

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:09 pm
by raptor
Really? Z.A.P. ran in the browser?

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:54 pm
by Quartz
raptor wrote:Really? Z.A.P. ran in the browser?

Yup. InstantAction's shtick was that all their games were browser games, requiring no download.

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 3:12 pm
by Fordcars
Oh yeah, that shitty plug-in.

Zero All Productivity

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:18 am
by watusimoto
Z.A.P. did not run in the browser, but the way the site worked, it kind of created that illusion. Somehow. The game was still running outside the browser as an independent process.

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:55 am
by Quartz
watusimoto wrote:Z.A.P. did not run in the browser, but the way the site worked, it kind of created that illusion. Somehow. The game was still running outside the browser as an independent process.

So they bragged about something that the game didn't even do. Even more reasons why it was TOTALLY AWESOME. Not gonna lie, I did wonder why if it were truly run in the browser, why it didn't work on Mac. Hahaha.

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:59 am
by sky_lark
watusimoto wrote:Z.A.P. did not run in the browser, but the way the site worked, it kind of created that illusion. Somehow. The game was still running outside the browser as an independent process.

Can you elaborate on this? How is that possible? The only thing I downloaded was a plugin for InstantAction. Is this similar to how Onlive operates do you think?

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:11 am
by raptor
Did it run only in Internet Explorer? If so, then that means it was probably an ActiveX plugin.

If not, then it was probably a basic browser plugin that actually loaded binary files from your system, which probably contained much of the game in it.

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:51 pm
by Fordcars
Actually, I think it did run on Mac. I think it was kind of like the Unity Web Plug-in, and according to Wikipedia, it was "streaming" the game as you played: it downloaded it while you played, thus having barely any downloading time. I think it download each time you loaded the page, pretty much like Youtube :)

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 1:05 am
by watusimoto
They suggested it downloaded as you played, but that is highly unlikely. Though I don't think I ever tried the system, I seem to recall that you would first install some kind of loader that would then manage all the games on the InstantAction site.

So it was probably not ActiveX, but rather a Steam-like program manager that was largely hidden from the user.

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 10:59 am
by sky_lark
watusimoto wrote:They suggested it downloaded as you played, but that is highly unlikely. Though I don't think I ever tried the system, I seem to recall that you would first install some kind of loader that would then manage all the games on the InstantAction site.

So it was probably not ActiveX, but rather a Steam-like program manager that was largely hidden from the user.

Hypothetically if we still had the files from that could we build the game on our own? Or would we need some component from the InstantAction servers?

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:43 pm
by Fordcars
I don't think using that plug-in is the future :P

EDIT: Check out his cool article: http://evanvolm.wordpress.com/2013/01/0 ... -they-now/

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:33 pm
by sky_lark
Thanks for the article! Thrilled to see a couple of those games are still active (ThinkTanks, Lore).

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:56 am
by watusimoto
I'm not sure the plugin is the way to go at this point. I think our best bet is to compile the game into Javascript and see if modern browsers have what it takes to run it.

And yes, this is theoretically possible with currently available tools. Raptor got within one build error of success the last time he made a serious effort to get it to work.

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:27 pm
by sky_lark
To be clear, I wasn't suggesting build Bitfighter using the InstantAction plugin. I was curious if Z.A.P. could be rebuilt using the plugin and thus played again without needing something from IA's servers.

Of course, the question then is why would you want to... :)

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:35 pm
by Fordcars
:P I guess you could contact GarageGames to see if they would be willing to

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:18 pm
by watusimoto
I was curious if Z.A.P. could be rebuilt using the plugin and thus played again without needing something from IA's servers.


My guess would be yes. If you could figure out where the executable was stored, you could probably run it without being connected to IA.

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:41 am
by amgine
Any idea what build this will be done by 20 or 21 ?

Also where would "levels" and "levelgens" be stored?

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 4:32 pm
by Fordcars
My guess: Pleiades!

Re: Browser version of Bitfighter

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 4:46 pm
by amgine
Idk it might have to create "storage" for each user


that's why I say all levels saved will be auto uploaded to Pleiades it will allow anyone access to any level....