FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

S_Bot bug

<<

Lamp

User avatar

Posts: 426

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:07 pm

Post Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:45 pm

S_Bot bug

When I add an S_Bot it stays for a while but then leaves. I was hosting a dedicated server and this is what I got on the log:

***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/S_Bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
Image
<<

watusimoto

Site Admin

Posts: 1558

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:07 pm

Location: Quartz's mom's house

Post Thu Jan 17, 2013 2:54 am

Re: S_Bot bug

Interesting. Here are lines 54 and 55 from my copy of s_bot:

  Code:
local bulletLoc = bullet:getLoc()
local bulletVel = bullet:getVel()


I notice that 1) it properly uses a ":" to run the getVel method; and 2) we successfully ran a very similar command (getLoc()) immediately prior without problem, so I know the bullet object is legit.

So could you put the code of your s_bot.bot file on pastie.org, and post the link here? You can find the file in your robots folder. If you need to know where that is, hit F7 a few times.

Thanks!
<<

Lamp

User avatar

Posts: 426

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:07 pm

Post Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:22 pm

Re: S_Bot bug

Nah, it works now.

Should I still copy the code and put it there?
Image
<<

Lamp

User avatar

Posts: 426

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:07 pm

Post Thu Jan 17, 2013 5:58 pm

Re: S_Bot bug

Wierd, it happened again when I had max amount of bots and sam686 joined. :O

IP:208.107.22.190:28102 - client "sam686" connected.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
Image
<<

Lamp

User avatar

Posts: 426

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:07 pm

Post Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:01 pm

Re: S_Bot bug

More weird, i joined and added max number of bots and then some of them left after a while, bot not all did. :shock:

***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
***ROBOT ERROR*** Error handling event Tick: ...rary/Application Support/Bitfighter/robots/s_bot.bot:55: calling 'getVel' on bad self (MoveObject expected, got userdata -- did you use '.' instead of ':'?). Shutting bot down.
Image
<<

watusimoto

Site Admin

Posts: 1558

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:07 pm

Location: Quartz's mom's house

Post Sat Jan 19, 2013 2:37 pm

Re: S_Bot bug

Please post your code!
<<

Lamp

User avatar

Posts: 426

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:07 pm

Post Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:46 pm

Re: S_Bot bug

s_bot.bot.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
<<

watusimoto

Site Admin

Posts: 1558

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:07 pm

Location: Quartz's mom's house

Post Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:17 am

Re: S_Bot bug

Lamp, are you running a development build? If so, there is a Lua bug that will cause this problem. I am trying to fix it, but it is very tricky.
<<

Lamp

User avatar

Posts: 426

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:07 pm

Post Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: S_Bot bug

watusimoto wrote:Lamp, are you running a development build? If so, there is a Lua bug that will cause this problem. I am trying to fix it, but it is very tricky.



No, I'm using 018.
Image
<<

amgine

Posts: 1399

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:57 pm

Post Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:36 pm

Re: S_Bot bug

hmm ive noticed this problem also.
Bitfighter Forever.

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

cron