FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Promotional Server Problems

<<

Whittling While

User avatar

Posts: 235

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:22 am

Location: Minnesota

Post Sun May 16, 2010 1:57 pm

Promotional Server Problems

Alright so I'm going to start advertising my Clan to anybody who wants to join and I've made the script for the promotional server. Problem is every time I start the server up, instead of getting the name "-hostname "Clan .Loner Promotional Server" and the Adminpassword I want, I get this -hostname "Ninjas only" -adminpassword "ION." Right after I press enter this happens. For some reason it automatically changes it when i launch it.
I tried to see if the same thing happened when I started my Clan server. Well that server started up just fine and dandy. I'm only getting this issue with my promotional server.

Here's the entire segment i'm getting:
Last login: Sun May 16 15:48:41 on ttyp1
Welcome to Darwin!
users-Computer:~ user$ /Users/user/Desktop/Tim\'s\ Stuff/Flashes:Games/Games/bitFighter/Bitfighter.app/Contents/MacOS/Bitfighter -dedicated server -hostname "Clan .Loner Promotional Server" -adminpassword "********" -levelchangepassword "*************" -hostdescr "ShadowX.loner Wants You to join Clan .Loner!" -leveldir "Promotional Levels"
/Users/user/Desktop/Tim\'s\ Stuff/Flashes:Games/Games/bitFighter/Bitfighter.app/Contents/MacOS/Bitfighter -dedicated server -hostname "Clan .Loner Promotional Server" -adminpassword "********" -levelchangepassword "*************" -hostdescr "ShadowX.loner Wants You to join Clan .Loner"-dedicated -hostname "Ninjas only" -adminpassword "ION" -leveldir "Promotional Levels"
Loaded level Join Clan .Loner! of type Capture the Flag [levels/Promotional Levels/ClanRecruit.level]
Server connecting to master...
Client puzzle solved in 244 ms.
Client puzzle solved in 269 ms.
Server established connection with Master Server

Help is wanted.
Premier Cloaker
"Time is an illusion; lunchtime, dually so."
<<

karamazovapy

Posts: 1567

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:52 pm

Post Sun May 16, 2010 4:09 pm

Re: Promotional Server Problems

ShadowX.loner wrote:instead of getting the name "-hostname "Clan .Loner Promotional Server" and the Adminpassword I want, I get this -hostname "Ninjas only" -adminpassword "ION."


I gonna go out on a limb and say the hostname is "Ninjas only" and the adminpassword is "ION" because that's what you're setting those parameters to at the end of the command line.
  Code:
...
-hostdescr "ShadowX.loner Wants You to join Clan .Loner"-dedicated -hostname "Ninjas only" -adminpassword "ION" -leveldir "Promotional Levels"


Other things I'd change:
Bitfighter -dedicated (get rid of the word server)
-adminpassword ******** (choose a password without spaces, lose the "")
-levelchangepassword ************* (same)
-hostname "Clan .Loner Server" (shorten it up)
-hostdescr "Join Clan .Loner!" (same)
-leveldir promos (choose a one word name for your leveldir, lose the "")
(also, order)

So my command line would look like this:
  Code:
bitfighter -dedicated -hostname "Clan .Loner Server" -hostdescr "Join Clan .Loner!" -adminpassword adminpw -levelchangepassword levpw  -leveldir promos
I'm 99% sure my command line would work exactly the way I intended it to.
<<

Whittling While

User avatar

Posts: 235

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:22 am

Location: Minnesota

Post Sun May 16, 2010 8:47 pm

Re: Promotional Server Problems

That's the thing though, I'm not adding the ninjas only and ION parts into the script, the server automatically switches it to that instead of what I want it to say. I'll give your suggestions a try too, see if it helps.
Premier Cloaker
"Time is an illusion; lunchtime, dually so."
<<

karamazovapy

Posts: 1567

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:52 pm

Post Sun May 16, 2010 8:56 pm

Re: Promotional Server Problems

Then I would guess that as a mac user, you've got some command line code squirreled away inside the executable from an eternity ago. If my command line fails, re-install bitfighter to a fresh directory, copy over your levels and .ini, and try again.
<<

Whittling While

User avatar

Posts: 235

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:22 am

Location: Minnesota

Post Tue May 18, 2010 1:14 pm

Re: Promotional Server Problems

I've already done that.

Three times.
Premier Cloaker
"Time is an illusion; lunchtime, dually so."
<<

Whittling While

User avatar

Posts: 235

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:22 am

Location: Minnesota

Post Tue May 18, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: Promotional Server Problems

Oooookay. Take me a while to make time to work on my BitFighter issues, but the server now works. Thank you _K!
Premier Cloaker
"Time is an illusion; lunchtime, dually so."
<<

watusimoto

Site Admin

Posts: 1558

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:07 pm

Location: Quartz's mom's house

Post Tue May 18, 2010 11:05 pm

Re: Promotional Server Problems

So... what was the solution?
<<

Whittling While

User avatar

Posts: 235

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:22 am

Location: Minnesota

Post Wed May 19, 2010 9:24 am

Re: Promotional Server Problems

Actually I think it was just a changing of the format of the script. The reason being because the
  Code:
-dedicated -hostname "Ninjas only" -adminpassword "ION" -leveldir "Promotional Levels"
was from one of my previous attempts at creating a dedicated server script. My Dad was suggesting that the script I wanted was being overrided because the preferences from one of my previous .ini files was still actively functioning and causing the problem. The only problem I had with that theory is because when I hosted the official clan server, it wasn't being overwritten. So really I have no idea why it started working, I just made the edits _K offered to the promo script and it started working. But then again I'm not very fluent in code/program, so I might not know what I'm talking about.
Premier Cloaker
"Time is an illusion; lunchtime, dually so."
<<

watusimoto

Site Admin

Posts: 1558

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:07 pm

Location: Quartz's mom's house

Post Thu May 20, 2010 10:35 pm

Re: Promotional Server Problems

Command line options should always override settings in the INI file.
<<

karamazovapy

Posts: 1567

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:52 pm

Post Fri May 21, 2010 12:17 am

Re: Promotional Server Problems

watusimoto wrote:Command line options should always override settings in the INI file.

Yeah, but a lot of mac users execute command line stuff differently, by modifying a part of the executable. Don't know if that figures in or not, but it seems like one of the few differences in the way mac/pc users enter their parameters.

Another possible source of fuckuppery was the inclusion of the erroneous "server" in the original command line. I don't know why that would cause the unusual results above, either, but it seems a much more likely candidate than any of my other fixes.
<<

watusimoto

Site Admin

Posts: 1558

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:07 pm

Location: Quartz's mom's house

Post Sat May 22, 2010 11:59 am

Re: Promotional Server Problems

by modifying a part of the executable.


This would be analogous to modifying a batch file or creating a short cut with the cmd line params embedded, right? In any case, the statement about cmd line params taking precedence over INI settings holds.
<<

karamazovapy

Posts: 1567

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:52 pm

Post Sat May 22, 2010 1:18 pm

Re: Promotional Server Problems

I really don't know if the software recognizes it as being the same as a batch file or short cut...I did it once on a university computer and it seemed more invasive than that, somehow. Maybe someone with a mac can try to reproduce it and see if there's a bug.

Return to General Map/Server

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests