FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

BitTown v2

<<

sam686

User avatar

Posts: 468

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:53 pm

Location: United States, South Dakota

Post Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:02 am

Re: BitTown v2

Skybax wrote:BitTown is currently at a standstill, because with the addition of FoOtloOse's house, the level will no longer open because it's so gigajantic.

Blank screen caused by having more then 1024 objects? The limit being hit is mostly caused by too many LineItem and TextItem, walls don't count on this limit. This problem is fixed on 019, but you may need to wait until release to make sure things don't break in testing.

While we are on 018a, we might have to limit each person's sum of LineItem + TextItem + Teleporter + Spybug + GoalZone + LoadoutZone + SpeedZone to 100 or less, to avoid black screen of too many objects. You may still use as many walls as you want.
<<

Skybax

User avatar

Posts: 1003

Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 9:17 am

Location: Washington

Post Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:26 am

Re: BitTown v2

Oh. I was told something almost opposite. That line items take up less space than walls and therefore any wall that wasn't essential should be changed into a line item
raptor wrote:Sorry Skybax, I hijacked your signature so I could post lots of info.
Whittling While wrote:Does this mean I finally get quoted in someone's signature?
watusimoto wrote:Who are the devs around here?!?
<<

kaen

User avatar

Posts: 209

Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 11:54 am

Post Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:30 am

Re: BitTown v2

Skybax wrote:Oh. I was told something almost opposite. That line items take up less space than walls and therefore any wall that wasn't essential should be changed into a line item


To clarify, lines save CPU, not memory. More walls means more vertices to merge and triangulate (Bitfighter does one merge and two triangulations for various technical things). Lines do not need to be merged or triangulated.

Lines causing the black screen is an engine bug. Walls eating CPU at load-time is a technical necessity.
bobdaduck wrote:Next, the moon!

└────────┘
⎈⎈⎈⎈
┌────────┐
<<

Quartz

User avatar

Posts: 879

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:14 am

Location: Commie California

Post Fri Nov 15, 2013 1:13 pm

Re: BitTown v2

I told you my line items were eating the level =P

Replace my house already and you'll be fine. My old house has 500 objects all on its own.

And question can I name my team something other than, like, Quartz?
Exploits of Quartz and bobdaduck - My maps on Pleiades
Current self-serving quote:
raptor wrote:sometimes I think getting Quartz to use plugins is like getting my mom to use a computer
<<

Skybax

User avatar

Posts: 1003

Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 9:17 am

Location: Washington

Post Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:11 pm

Re: BitTown v2

I did replace it, I just haven't given raptor the updated file yet.

And... I'd rather not. Why?
raptor wrote:Sorry Skybax, I hijacked your signature so I could post lots of info.
Whittling While wrote:Does this mean I finally get quoted in someone's signature?
watusimoto wrote:Who are the devs around here?!?
<<

Quartz

User avatar

Posts: 879

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:14 am

Location: Commie California

Post Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:56 pm

Re: BitTown v2

Cool

I was thinking you could name my team "Dean Winchester" (with quotes otherwise it breaks). But if you'd rather not, forget it. =P
Exploits of Quartz and bobdaduck - My maps on Pleiades
Current self-serving quote:
raptor wrote:sometimes I think getting Quartz to use plugins is like getting my mom to use a computer
<<

Quartz

User avatar

Posts: 879

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:14 am

Location: Commie California

Post Mon Nov 25, 2013 2:07 pm

Re: BitTown v2

You know I was thinking. Fordcars and I look too similar with our team colors.

You could make me (40, 0, 100).

:3

(Props to Bob on a cool house!)
Exploits of Quartz and bobdaduck - My maps on Pleiades
Current self-serving quote:
raptor wrote:sometimes I think getting Quartz to use plugins is like getting my mom to use a computer
<<

Fordcars

User avatar

Posts: 983

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:51 pm

Location: Some city, somewhere

Post Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:22 pm

Re: BitTown v2

I was totally thinking the same thing. Great minds think alike!
skybax: Why is this health pack following me?
bobdaduck: uh, it likes you.
<<

tazinator

Posts: 351

Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:35 pm

Post Mon Mar 10, 2014 3:23 pm

Re: BitTown v2

Play my new level! Two different teams fight over a nexus: One mainly defends while the other attacks! is fun
viewtopic.php?f=33&p=21002#p21002
<<

amgine

Posts: 1314

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:57 pm

Post Wed Jul 01, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: BitTown v2

Um isn't that only 7 teams isnt the max 9 if so Can I have a team ?
Bitfighter Forever.
<<

furbuggy

Posts: 266

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:34 pm

Location: Mesa AZ | Ithaca NY

Post Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:46 am

Re: BitTown v2

I think we're working on a v. 3 soon.

I'll try to make sure you have a team, since you've been so enthusiastic about it :)

You'll have to agree to let people onto your team if it gets big though.
BAM! I'm back.
<<

amgine

Posts: 1314

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:57 pm

Post Thu Jul 02, 2015 1:42 pm

Re: BitTown v2

Lets bring bittown back!

I want my own hosue ;)
Bitfighter Forever.
<<

furbuggy

Posts: 266

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:34 pm

Location: Mesa AZ | Ithaca NY

Post Wed Jul 08, 2015 10:14 am

Re: BitTown v2

tazinator wrote:Hey guys I made a zoo.
http://bitfighter.org/pleiades/levels/view/227

Image


This is pretty cool haha.
BAM! I'm back.
<<

amgine

Posts: 1314

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:57 pm

Post Wed Jul 08, 2015 10:27 pm

Re: BitTown v2

Im going to create a annoying speed zone mini challange and yes it will have spinning speed zones XD
Bitfighter Forever.
Previous

Return to General Map/Server

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron