FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

Forum rules
This forum is for technical discussion only. If you are interested in gameplay or client-side issues, please post in Bitfighter Features.
<<

Santiago ZAP

User avatar

Posts: 317

Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 8:05 am

Post Mon Oct 17, 2011 5:41 pm

How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

I Downloaded C++,
I Downloaded Bitfighter Source Code,
I edited it
What do I have to do for Bitfighter to load the New C++ Code?
:zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance:
<<

raptor

Posts: 1043

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 9:03 pm

Post Mon Oct 17, 2011 6:29 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

Welcome to the world of programming!

Please see:
http://bitfighter.org/wiki/index.php?ti ... Bitfighter
<<

karamazovapy

Posts: 1567

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:52 pm

Post Mon Oct 17, 2011 6:49 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

To add to that response on a more basic level, when you modify c++ code, you need to "compile" it into an executable file (.exe) before it will run.

If you download the source and modify it, you have to compile your new, special version before you can see if it works. Often, your changes will make it so the new version doesn't work quite the way it's supposed to. These are the bugs we're always tracking down.

...it's the ciiiiiiircle of liiiiiiiiiiife...and it moves us aaaaaaaaaaaaaall...
<<

ZoombeR

Posts: 1036

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:56 pm

Post Mon Oct 17, 2011 9:49 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

could you at least tell us what platform your running?
<<

watusimoto

Site Admin

Posts: 1558

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:07 pm

Location: Quartz's mom's house

Post Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:34 am

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

The first thing you need to do is to figure out how to build the unmodified version of Bitfighter on whatever platform you are on. We've tried to make it easy, but there are always complexities. Patience and fortitude are required if you have never done this before. It took me over a week to compile Bitfighter for the first time (though it was called Zap then), and while we've made it much easier than it was, there are still many things you will need to learn, like how to compile a C++ program, for example.
<<

Santiago ZAP

User avatar

Posts: 317

Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 8:05 am

Post Tue Oct 18, 2011 3:10 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

Thanks all!
ZoombeR wrote:could you at least tell us what platform your running?
Windows XP
:zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance:
<<

ZoombeR

Posts: 1036

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:56 pm

Post Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:04 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

ok, so im assuming you got visual C++ and *obtained* the "include_do_not_distribute" files..?
<<

watusimoto

Site Admin

Posts: 1558

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:07 pm

Location: Quartz's mom's house

Post Wed Oct 19, 2011 2:27 am

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

I'm not exactly sure if those files are required any longer... I think Sam or Raptor did some voodoo to make them unnecessary.
<<

raptor

Posts: 1043

Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 9:03 pm

Post Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:40 am

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

Voodoo was done as part of 016, I think (everything seems fuzzy now..) - for 015a, you'll still need those DirectX files.
<<

Santiago ZAP

User avatar

Posts: 317

Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 8:05 am

Post Wed Oct 19, 2011 1:50 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

ZoombeR wrote:ok, so im assuming you got visual C++ and *obtained* the "include_do_not_distribute" files..?

Yep!
:zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance:
<<

ZoombeR

Posts: 1036

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:56 pm

Post Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:56 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

raptor wrote:Voodoo was done as part of 016, I think (everything seems fuzzy now..) - for 015a, you'll still need those DirectX files.


aaah. that word is a commonly used osx86 term used tooo.
<<

watusimoto

Site Admin

Posts: 1558

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:07 pm

Location: Quartz's mom's house

Post Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:28 am

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

Usually the easiest way to get those files, which we cannot distribute, is to quietly ask someone via email.
<<

Santiago ZAP

User avatar

Posts: 317

Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 8:05 am

Post Sat Oct 29, 2011 4:32 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

Santiago ZAP wrote:What do I have to do for Bitfighter to load the New C++ Code?
:zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance:
<<

karamazovapy

Posts: 1567

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:52 pm

Post Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

Do you understand what compiling is?
<<

Santiago ZAP

User avatar

Posts: 317

Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 8:05 am

Post Tue Nov 08, 2011 1:48 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

karamazovapy wrote:Do you understand what compiling is?

Turning a Source code into a programming language, or an executable program
:zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance: :zapdance:
<<

karamazovapy

Posts: 1567

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:52 pm

Post Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:36 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

I want to be clear that I'm not trying to talk down to you here, I'm just trying to figure out what you do and do not know.

Do you understand how to attempt to compile the code for windows?
<<

ZoombeR

Posts: 1036

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:56 pm

Post Sat Nov 12, 2011 12:02 pm

Re: How do I make Bitfighter load the C++?

maybe you want to read This link?

Return to Technical Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron